Post Click Optimization Strategies
8 Simple Steps to Boost Post Click Performance
If you aim to sell your product, securing clicks is not necessarily your primary goal, your objective, however, is targeting serious users who will take action on your landing pages. In this sense, optimizing users’ post-click action takes precedence over all other criteria. This action can include giving contact details, purchasing a product, signing up for a service, completing a video, or page views.
To help you achieve your goal, we have put together a few strategies to motivate users to take action on your landing pages.
- Set User Expectations:
If your campaign ad, including title and thumbnail, set a certain expectation, your landing page must meet it. Otherwise, your user will feel cheated and annoyed for landing on an unrelated page and eventually close the page. - Use Action Words:
Adding a call to action to your title will only invite interested people to click and motivate them to take action. - A/B Test Different Action Words:
While someone may not be willing to sign up for a paid service, he may be willing to give a trial a chance. Therefore, you must try different action words and vary the degree of commitment required to motivate users to click and convert. - Retarget Users:
By retargeting users, you are targeting users who are most likely to convert into customers. Retarget them with a title including a strong call to action. - Try Include the Price:
When your goal is to sell a product, try adding the price to your title. This strategy ensures that users who click on your campaign ads are already willing to pay the price, which increases the chance for conversion. - Include Limited Time Offers:
People usually react to limited-time offers. So add the time limit to your title, and see the number of users, who click on your campaign ads, convert into customers soar. - Be Specific:
Be specific and include your most unique and valuable selling point in your campaign ad’s title. This will motivate users who would like to use your product or service. - Target your Intended Audience:
Identify your target audience and call them to action in the title and thumbnail of your campaign ad. Make it relevant to the people you aim to target. This will eventually increase your click-through rate and ensure a higher conversion rate.
Mobile App Campaigns Best Practices
If you are aiming to generate more downloads of your mobile app, we believe that this article will give you some valuable tips that are bound to boost your numbers. Read more about enhancing your title, thumbnail, brand name, and general campaign best practices.
App Download Best Practices:
- Use an informative brand text. Tell your users that instead of being directed to a landing page, they will be directed to an app store experience, whether Google Play or Apple Store.
- Use the right keywords to filter potential customers. Use action words like “download” to refine your pool. Words like “download” may only attract potential customers which will lower your CTR, which will lower your CTR but will definitely raise your conversion rate.
- Formulate descriptive headlines. Emphasize and sum up what the app does and highlight its value in a few words. This ensures that interested users will click on your campaign ad and will be more likely to convert into customers.
- Emphasize the value of your app to motivate users to download it. Remember that you need to highlight the reason why users should download your app.
- If your app is free there is no need to mention it. If there is a fee, then mention the price in the headline.
- Test the efficacy of your wording. Try different combinations and keywords in your headline.
- Use A/B Testing to assess how users interact with the headline. Retest new creative headlines every 2-4 weeks.
- Split your iOS and Android campaigns, since users of the two operating systems tend to behave differently. This allows the Speakol algorithm to gain insights and empower you with precise data for your campaigns to further enhance your campaigns.
- Increase the CPC for your iOS campaign. Although iOS may have a higher CPI (Consumer Price Index), they often have better post-installation performance.
- Experiment with using landing pages with a more detailed description of your app before directly leading users to the app store.
Titles and Images
This article discusses Speakol’s recommended best practices towards creating your titles and thumbnails.
Your adsets include one or more campaign ads, made up of titles and images. Each campaign ad has a unique title and a thumbnail, image, which usually appears underneath the text. Both the title and image should be designed to draw in the users you aim to reach and offer them a compelling previewing of what awaits them on your landing page.
Designing captivating images and phrasing smart, witty titles can substantially boost your CTR (click-through rate), whereas poorly designed and written ones can immensely affect your campaign’s performance.
Titles:
The title should brightly present the idea of the content of your landing page; the title should communicate the tone, style, and nature of what the user is about to see. The title should be clear and engaging to incite users to click on your campaign ad.
Tips to Create Eye-Catching Titles:
- Your title should be a powerful targeting tool that calls on your audiences or highlights your product.
Example:
Here is Why Parents Send Their Kids to Boarding Schools
Here is Why People Love Brands - Begin your title with an eye-catching statement.
Example:
How Bad Customer Service Can Hurt Your Business
How Great Time Management Can Boost Your Productivity - Numbered lists can motivate users to read an article.
Example:
Discover 5 Ways to Save Money
Reveal the top 10 Songs of the Decade - Intrigue and Mystery can also draw in more readers
Example:
The Real Secret to Long Life May Intrigue You
Longer Hours of Sleep Will Make You Happier - Capitalize the title of your article as you would an article’s headline.
Example:
How Technology is Transforming Business
Complete Guide to Leading A Healthy Lifestyle
Thumbnails:
Pictures speak louder than words. So no matter how enticing your words are, users will tend to look at the thumbnails first. Therefore, you must use engaging and exciting thumbnails for your campaign ads to boost user engagement.
We do encourage you to employ A/B Testing and try out different combinations and variations of titles and thumbnails to better assess their performance. To learn more about A/B Testing, check this page.
Tips to Add the Most Creative Thumbnails:
- It is preferable to use people at the center of your thumbnail. You can place them at medium zoom from the shoulders up.
- Use clean, clear images with a single focus rather than confuse the reader with useless details.
- Employ eye-catching colors that are bound to grab the users’ attention
- Use original unique pictures and avoid clipart and brand logos.
What is Cost Per Lead (CPL)?
Once a user takes a desired action on your landing page, conversion occurs. A user or potential customer converts into a customer. This customer may have purchased a product, signed up for a particular service, read a certain number of pages, signed up his email, or taken any action that you, as a business owner, deem valuable to your business and contribute to realizing your marketing targets.
The Cost Per Lead (CPL) is the amount you pay each time an action occurs on your landing page.
Set up and Monitor Your CPL Goal:
Your CPL is a significant number to monitor, for it demonstrates the value clicks are adding to your business. Therefore, you should continuously compare your current CPL and your desired CPL ( the optimal cost per lead).
If your CPL is too high and the cost of each action is too expensive, you need to optimize and reduce your CPL. On the other hand, if your CPL is too low and you find you can afford to pay more for a lead, we encourage you to raise your CPL to give your brand more opportunities to shine and win over more valuable clicks.
To manage your CPL, we recommend that you implement the Speakol conversion tracking code on your website.
How to Calculate your CPL?
What significantly affects your CPL is both the cost per click (CPC) and conversion rate. Your CPC is the amount you pay every time a user actively clicks on one of your campaign ads. Your conversion rate is the frequency by which users who actively click on your campaign ads go one to become actual paying customers or take action on your landing pages.
Excluding all other factors, once your CPC increases, so will your CPL; once your CPC decreases, so will your CPL. In the same manner, if your conversion rate increases, your CPL will decrease, and if your conversion rate decreases, your CPL will increase.
You can calculate your CPL by dividing the total amount of money spent by the number of leads. For instance, if you spend $1000 and you get 20 conversions, your CPL is $50.
Defining and Measuring Your Goals
Before launching your Speakol campaign, you must identify and define your campaign goals. Try to set your goals as specific as possible, because the more you do, the better your campaign will perform, and the more likely it will succeed.
This article will offer you a few examples of goals that you may want to consider and measure for your Speakol campaigns.
Raising Brand Awareness:
If you aim to drive traffic to your website, you need to raise brand awareness. You need to figure out how to promote your business as a whole, and inform the public of your new products and featured services.
Once you decide that this is the primary goal you mean to achieve, you can start monitoring some of these metrics to assess your campaign’s performance:
- Viewable impressions
- Number of clicks/ visitors
- vCTR ( Viewable Clickthrough Rate)
- Unique Visitors
Driving Conversions:
If you aim to generate actions on your landing pages, you need to focus on driving conversions. Conversions may vary to include filling out forms, setting up an account, purchasing a product, or registering for a service. To achieve your goal, you must ensure that your landing page is inviting, engaging, and user-friendly. To learn more about landing pages best practices, please visit our page.
You need to monitor some of the bellow metrics to assess and measure the performance of your ad campaign:
- Conversions
- CVR (Conversion Rate)
- CPL (Cost Per Lead)
- ROI (Return on Investment)
- ROAS (Return on Ad Spend)
To keep track of your conversion rate, implement Speakol’s tracking code on your website. The tracking code will offer you deep insight into how potential customers behave on your website, which allows you to keep developing and enhancing your landing page until it realizes its full potential.
Increase User-Engagement:
Once your website is driving traffic, the next step will be to consider how many pages the average user goes through per visit and determine the amount of time he/she spends on your website. Some metrics that you should monitor will include:
- The number of clicks
- Pages viewed per visit
- Time user spent on the website
- Rate of returning visitors
Boosting Video Views:
If you do have a video on your website, and you would like to track and assess its performance, you must monitor these metrics.
1. The number of video views
2. The Percentage of video completion
3. The number of video completions
Increasing Mobile App Installation:
To track your ad campaign’s performance, you may want to track how many app installs took place as a result of your campaign.
To measure the success of such a campaign, you need to monitor the following metrics:
- The number of installed apps
- The number of in-app actions
- CPI (Cost Per Installations), or CPL (Cost Per Lead)
- CVR (Conversion Rate)
- ROI (Return on Investment)
- ROAS (Return on Ad Spend)
To help you monitor your progress, we do advise that you implement the Speakol mobile app install or in-app action trackers.
How long will it take for me to achieve my goals?
Since monitoring and optimizing your campaign is a process, it can take up to a few weeks until you achieve your goals. Don’t rush; be patient. Based on the reports you receive, you can A/B tests, implement changes, and make sound informed decisions to enhance your performance and drive results. It may take some time, but we promise you you will be happy with the results.